Ukraine sanctions

In addition to the sanctions imposed on Russia, Australia is imposing sanctions on the Donetsk and Luhansk regions of Ukraine.

The Autonomous Sanctions Amendment (Ukraine Regions) Regulations 2022 (the Ukraine Regions Regulations) will commence on 28 March 2022.

This article explores the key considerations as outlined by the Department of Foreign Affairs and trade.


Legislative and historical background

The Ukraine Regions Regulations amend the Autonomous Sanctions Regulations 2011 to extend to the Donetsk and Luhansk regions of Ukraine the sanctions measures already applied to Crimea and Sevastopol.


Which activities do the sanctions target?

These sanctions measures target exports and commercial activity in relation to the transport, telecommunications, energy and exploitation of oil, gas and mineral reserve sectors; and prohibit all imports.


Sanctions permits

Australians and Australian entities with interests in the Donetsk and Luhansk regions of Ukraine, who are engaged in activities that are captured by the sanctions measures, will have until 28 March 2022 to cease these activities.

The Minister for Foreign Affairs may grant a sanctions permit to allow an activity that would otherwise be prohibited provided the activity is deemed as being in the national interest.

Nyman Gibson Miralis provides expert advice and representation in complex matters involving both Australian and international sanctions. 

Contact us if you require assistance.